Long time reader, just made an account. Had surgery yesterday.

Amagdala
on 8/19/16 2:04 am
RNY on 08/18/16

Hello

im new to being an actual member to these forums though I've been reading them for a while.

im joining you from my Ottawa Civic Hospital bed as I had my roux-en-y surgery August 18th 2016 at 8am. Surgery went well but I am quite sore, that last dose of Tylenol and dilaudid didn't really help, I'll probably call up my nurse again soon. 

This surgery has been a long time in the making, I started with the nutrition/months and months of optifast program in winter 2014. I lost a fair amount of weight only to gain it back and more. So after a lot of thought and some nervous hesitation (I'm only 23 years old) I started on the path to surgery. I was finally booked to have surgery with Mammaza June 22nd 2016. 

But it that didn't happen. My appendix decided to put up a fight and was removed June 14th. I was already done 2 of the 3 weeks of pre op optifast. I was not impressed. This led to the delay of my surgery. Which was also of concern because I am scheduled to write the MCAT for med school applications on September 10th and I have a trip to Europe at the end of September. So the extra 2 months of healing time would have been nice. 

The appendix removal also occurred 3 days before I was to write my medical lab tech licensing exam, which I did end up writing on schedule and passing, one bit of good news.

Mammaza said he saw no adhesions from the appendectomy which was a concern going in, so hopefully things go smoother from here on out.

Thanks for reading this piece of my story. If you have any advice for post op pain or 1.5 month post op travel or anything else you see fit let me know :) 

Lovely_Caprice
on 8/19/16 8:19 am

Good Luck!!! I am scheduled for my RnY on September 9.  He is my surgeon. 

Amagdala
on 8/19/16 9:32 am
RNY on 08/18/16