Is it possible to get overweight on a vegetarian diet. I need low carb low fat vege recipes.

N. Murphey
on 2/27/16 12:48 am

My Gp said going vegetarian was the best thing I could possibly do for my health and the cardio said dont. So there you have two health professionals
who cant agree.

White Dove
on 3/6/16 4:34 am - Warren, OH

If you were raised in a culture that did not eat meat, then a vegetarian lifestyle would be a healthy choice for you.  If not, then vegetarianism will just be another fad.  One member on this site did vegetarian for three years.  She gained 100 pounds and her iron went extremely low.

She had weight loss surgery, eats meat, and has lost the excess weight.

I have seen several people gain into the 300's just by eating vegetarian.  Listen to your cardio and consider a different GP. 

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

Deanna798
on 3/8/16 4:00 am
RNY on 08/04/15

I am by no means an expert,  but will chime in with my opinion anyway,  since you asked.  At least after weight loss surgery, being a vegetarian can be very hard.  Being vegan,  nearly impossible.  If you are a vegetarian,  but easy dairy products and eggs, it may be a little easier. 

We have a certain amount of protein that we need to eat in a day,  and if you eat juse veggies, that can mean eating A LOT of veggies to try to get it in.  After weight loss surgery,  our stomachs are tiny.  Soy has a lot of protein,  but it is a little controversial because it has a lot of plant based estrogen.  I can't eat it because I have a soy allergy. 

My husbands doctor recommends he goes paleo,  which makes a lot of sense.  You will find many doctors that recommend completely different things.  

Age: 44 | Height: 5' 3" | Starting January 2015: 291 | RNY 8/4/15 with Dr. Arthur Carlin| Goal: 150

Listen to advice and accept discipline, and at the end you will be counted among the wise. ~Proverbs 19:20

Donna L.
on 3/10/16 8:44 pm, edited 3/10/16 12:41 pm - Chicago, IL