more risks ?

shoot4thestarsedu
on 4/29/16 1:53 am

?I spoke with my surgeon and he told me that having a revision is far more dangerous than a regular RNY? please anyone eles heard this ?

(deactivated member)
on 4/29/16 8:01 pm

Though I have no experience myself with this I  have heard the same thing. The words far more dangerous would scare me a little but in reality I can understand some of the reasons a revision is more dangerous. I will be interested to see the replies you receive.

sheriberi29
on 5/1/16 5:06 am - Cleveland, TN

I'm having revision to rny on Tuesday and my surgeon says that  there is a 5 times greater risk of a leakage due to damage on stomach from previous surgeries i.e. Staple lines Ect also adhesions ( scar tissue) longer operating room time,  but still the percentages are relatively low. 

Banded 6/9/09 HW 242 LW 142 Revision 198 m 1 loss 16 lbs 182. M 2 loss 4 lbs 178. M3 loss 6 lbs 174.m4 loss 4 lbs 168. M5 gain 2 lbs 170. M6 loss 7 lbs 163 M7 loss 5 lbs 159 M8 loss 1 lb 158 M9 loss 0 M10 155 loss 3 M11 154 loss 1 M12 loss 2 152 M13 loss 3 149 M16, 17 0 loss M 18 loss 4 lbs 145 (18 months 53 lbs)

shoot4thestarsedu
on 5/1/16 6:51 am

thank toy for your response , I as so very scared to do it but my date 05/10/16 

(deactivated member)
on 5/3/16 10:06 am
ReShape on 10/30/16

I've never heard this, but I don't know why he would say it if there wasn't some truth to it. Ask for the 

figures and a list of exactly what could go wrong. Or of course search it online.

You've chosen to push ahead with this and I wish you the very best of luck on re -rediscovery. Whereas you

already know what to expect it has to be very exciting to get way back on track.

Good Luck!!!   Rich

Laura in Texas
on 5/3/16 6:45 pm