byoass or sleeve revision?

DenaCB
on 9/8/16 2:41 pm

opinions needed.  Can't decide between a sleeve or bypass revision.  Initial lapband surgery in 2008.  Repair surgery in 2011.  Regained plus.  Repair didn't work.  Surgeon had given me the choice.  I was pro sleeve until several months ago, and now leaning toward bypass.  Please tell me your story

fayster
on 9/9/16 11:35 am

I went to my initial consultation all set for the sleeve. But with my history of reflux they said the Bypass was better. So that's what I did...lap band to bypass on Aug 29. If you don't have reflux issues, then you're back to square one. I do feel like there's more known about the bypass and it is considered the 'gold standard' whatever that means. 

DenaCB
on 9/9/16 12:13 pm

How was your recovery?  I'm a public school teacher and am concerned about how long I should be out.

fayster
on 9/9/16 2:30 pm

It was really hard the first week. Where they removed my port was VERY sore/painful. I went back to work after a week, but a) just for half days and 2) I sit at a computer.. So I would definitely take 2 weeks as a teacher if not more if you can.

Hilarious
on 9/9/16 8:18 pm - Coram, NY

I had the same issue with the sleeve and my reflux problems - not an option. I had revision surgery from lap band to RNY on 10/29/15. I'm so glad I did this as I feel so much better without the band and I really thought I loved the band. I can eat anything and feel great.

I had lost 100 pounds with the lap band and wound up maintaining an 80 pound loss from March 2007 until my revision surgery last year. Since then I've lost 80 pounds and broke into the hundreds finally, a place I really don't ever recall being. I enjoy eating and get full fast ans remain full for a long time. That's been amazing to me!