severe reflux

amytang81
on 8/31/18 10:35 am
VSG on 07/28/10 with

I have been battling with GERD for a few years only worsening over this past year. Taking prevacid 30mg twice a day and carafate 1gm four times a day. Had an EGD this morning and my GI doctor feels all my problems are from the sleeve. Apparently, my surgeon left a pouch at the bottom of my sleeve. He is recommended revision. Of course, I'm super nervous about that but also don't want to take PPIs for the rest of my life either.

I'm curious if anyone else has had similar issues. Did you have the revision? Did you revise to another sleeve or go for a bypass?

Any information would be helpful.

Thanks

stacyrg
on 8/31/18 11:10 am
VSG on 05/12/14

I had VSG in 2014. 8 months later I started having issues with reflux. I underwent a ton of test. My sleeve was perfect, but my body couldn't adjust and over produced acid. My acid levels were 409% higher than normal. It's very typical to have issues with GERD post sleeve as the VSG creates a closed, high-pressure system and the acid has nowhere to go but up. Anyway, I revised to RNY on 7/1/16. It eliminated my acid by about 80%.

Revising to another sleeve (if they even do that) won't solve your acid issues.

Feel free to ask any questions you may have. I'm pretty much an open book.

amytang81
on 8/31/18 1:11 pm
VSG on 07/28/10 with

Apparently, the surgeon had left the base of my stomach much wider than a normal sleeve. He said that he has noticed that this particular surgeon did that alot. How I understand is that is what is creating the acid. However, I would be extremely nervous to sleeve again if that was even a thing just incase it didnt solve the acid.