Are smoked almonds good or bad?

cabin111
on 5/21/10 6:06 am
From the source...former almond grower here.  I did it for a living.  Almonds are very good for fiber and protein.  They are also heart healthy.  They have a natural oil, but it is a good oil.  What is not good is the almonds that are cooked in oil...salted and canned.  You are better off with just plain nuts...In my pantry and in my pockets I will keep; plain almonds, walnuts, sunfower seeds, pumpkin seeds, pistachios, pecans, roasted soy nuts, dry roasted peanuts (watch for the sugar content on those).  A small amount of plain nuts each day can work to your benifit...used in moderation they are fine...
Cleopatra_Nik
on 5/21/10 6:11 am - Baltimore, MD
I also feel compelled to point out the following.

Classifying foods as "good" or "bad" are relics of diet mentality. You can have any food you want. In order to lose weight, however, you have to balance out your choices. So a splurge high in fat would be followed by other choices lower in fat. A splurge high in sodium should be accompanied by lots of water to stay hydrated.

Barring dumping or allergies, you really should get out of classifying foods this way. Because in some things it gets really confusing. Whole wheat bread. Good or bad? Brown rice? Good or bad? Beans (which are VERY carby). Good or bad? See what I mean?

There are foods that are obviously less than stellar choices but instead of seeing things as good vs. bad (which is the black/white sort of set up), try your choices as this long line. One one side is "most beneficial" on the other is "least beneficial." Every food falls somewhere on that line. So nothing is off limits. And some days you may choose a food that is less beneficial. And we all do. But the pass/fail, good/bad, black/white only serves to make us feel like failures.
OlyParker
on 5/21/10 6:12 am