Mouth sores

Teresa_Ann10
on 4/1/11 3:18 pm - Beech Creek, KY

Has anyone experienced mouth sores due to malabsorption??? I have several and was curious as to why I had them and how to treat them so I went to a medical site and one of the causes of the sores was listed as malabsorption.I just wondered if anyone experienced this as a warning for problems about to arrise.Should I be concerned or am I being too precautious? These sores hurt badly and its hard to eat anything.I know my labs in Dec were acceptable but calcium and iron levels were borderline low. Any advice appreciated.

Teresa

poet_kelly
on 4/1/11 3:44 pm - OH
We actually want our calcium level on the low side.  I can explain why if you wanna know.

What was your vitamin A?  Vitamin D?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Bucketta
on 4/1/11 8:21 pm
 Have you been on any antibiotics?  If so you could have a yeast infection in your mouth.  Thrush is what it is called in babies and is the same thing in adults.  

Jacqueline 
 RNY 1/24/11

zoeyfae
on 4/1/11 10:22 pm - Marysville, WA
Canker sores?
So many things can cause those things. From what I've read even low iron levels can cause them. Stress can cause them!

If you are in pain, you should be concerned. Especially if you are having a hard time eating. I bet your nutritionist would have some great ideas for you! :)
Gastric Bypass- 12/7/09

Highest Weight on Record: 311
Before Pre-Op Diet: 295
Day of Surgery: 287
Goal: 175 (Surgeon) 165 (Personal)
Current:155
New Goal: To get a Pregnant Belly!
Carla M.
on 4/2/11 12:27 am
RNY on 02/21/11 with