How much weight did you lose after your first month post op?

CoachArch
on 8/5/11 3:34 pm - NM
I'm officially one month out and have only 28 pounds. Is this normal? It seems to be kind of slow to me, but of course I'm no expert lol. I think I'm in a stall as I've only lost 4 pounds in the last two weeks. Can someone please advise.... I have a lot to lose and don't want to be the one person this surgery doesn't work for lol. I'm getting in all my liquids and struggle to get in my 145 grams of protein per day, but do manage to get it in most days. I think I've been following the rules by weighing my food, exercising and such. Please share your experiences with me...
Lisa R.
on 8/5/11 3:44 pm - CA
Really?  You think 28 lbs in a month doesn't seem like a lot?  It is massive!  

A stall is when you don't lose any weight at all, you are losing 2 lbs a week, that is good.

This is a common post on these boards, you are not alone when you feel frustrated that your weight is not coming off in sheets and waves.  It is coming off, steady and sure.  You will really start to notice it about the 3 month mark.  

Keep up doing what you are doing, make sure you eat enough and don't lower your calories to lose more weight, that won't work.  You need to eat to lose.

I have lost 50lbs in 3 months and one week.  Give it time, I am pretty sure this surgery works for everyone in the first 6 to 9 months.  Your focus should be on gaining new healthy habits so that when the weight is gone you can keep it off.  

Don't stress you are doing good and it is working for you.  28 lbs in a month is great!

The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me. ~ Ayn Rand        
Tim T.
on 8/5/11 9:20 pm - Eastham, MA
I'm 4 1/4 weeks out and I am down 26 lbs. from 265 day of surgery (7/5) to 239 this morning. I feel like I have stalled, 10 lbs. came off the first week. I'm getting 80+ grams of protein and 600 to 700 calories daily.

Laura in Texas
on 8/5/11 10:15 pm