Gastroparesis and gastric bypass

yardiegyrl
on 10/3/11 12:47 pm - Charleston, SC
RNY on 03/20/12

Has there been anyone who has had the gastric bypass because of gastroparesis? I know my weight is an issue too, but the main reason for surgery is because of this stinking gastroparesis. HELP!

poet_kelly
on 10/3/11 1:15 pm - OH
I developed gastroparesis, or at least was diagnosed with it, about 18 months after my gastric bypass surgery.  How is gastric bypass surgery supposed to help with gastroparesis?

Do you take meds for gastroparesis?  I've had pretty good results with domperidone.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

yardiegyrl
on 10/5/11 4:27 am - Charleston, SC
RNY on 03/20/12
I have had problems with my stomach for a long time. Around the end of 2009 beginning of 2010 i was diagnosed with gastroparesis. I have been to several different GI doctors and they all have suggested the gastric bypass. The only difference with the surgery is that my stomach would be completely bypassed. After surgery I would have no use of my stomach.

Regarding the medications, I taking 3 different nausea medications, 2 different pain medications and an acid reducer. I was just recently given the prescription for Domperidone and still have to order it. Half the time I can't take any of the medications. Once my stomach start hurting and I'm vomiting, I can't hold anything.
chulbert
on 6/21/14 7:20 am - Rochester, NY
RNY on 01/21/13

By taking most of the faulty stomach and pylorus out of the equation.

I'm absolutely puzzled by how you could have a problem with it and be diagnosed post-op.

sthepworth
on 10/3/11 3:50 pm