Can I get a show of hands...

Donna R.
on 5/15/12 11:59 am - Ocala, FL
 I am just wondering, Do any of you wear a medical alert bracelet for your gastric bypass?  If so, did your doctor recommend it or someone else?  If you don't wear one why not?

I appreciate everyones input!  Thanks

Donna
Donna "Embrace the Journey"
AUGUST 18, 2010 "The First Day of the Rest (BEST) of my Life"

HW/SW/CW/GW  -  380/362/178/1??
poet_kelly
on 5/15/12 12:00 pm - OH
I wear one.  My doctor did not recommend it.  I think I first got the idea here on OH and thought it made sense for me.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Donna R.
on 5/15/12 12:10 pm - Ocala, FL
 Just knowing that you wear on Kelly makes me feel better about wearing mine.  I have heard different oopinions on this , but I too learned about this here on OH.

poet_kelly
on 5/15/12 12:13 pm - OH
I'm so used to mine now that I don't even notice it.  I just have it on all the time.  When I had an MRI recently, they told me to take everything off, especially anything metal, and I undressed and put the scrubs they gave me on and as I was getting on to the table, the technician pointed to my bracelet and said "That's metal, right?"  Oops!  Glad she noticed it!

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

mikerccie
on 5/15/12 12:10 pm
RNY on 02/28/12
I wear a pendant and have one on my keyring.  My Dr. and NUT both recommended it.