Finally a Post-Op
mdaggett · 20 replies · 239 views
unfortunate update
snow_white · 20 replies · 590 views

Why can't we drink from straws?

Sue G.
on 3/24/13 10:44 am - NH
RNY on 01/22/13

I am 8 weeks post op and doing great. One question that keeps coming up that I cannot find a good answer to is why you cannot drink from a straw post RNY surgery. I read some posts about drinking too quickly and air intake but no real comments from anyone that has had any experience with it.

Can anyone explain why?

HW: 242  SW: 212   GW:134

aesposito
on 3/24/13 10:47 am

I have heard the air intake theory, and the theory that it makes you drink more (which doesn't sound bad to me unless its a sugary or alcoholic drink).

In any case, I have always used straws without a problem.

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 155ish... 185 pounds lost!!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

CeciliaH.
on 3/24/13 11:08 am

My surgeon says straws are fine and once I started using a straw I was able to get all my liquid in each day. Never had a problem! 

HW 250lbs., Lab Band 6/2010 213lbs., revised to RNY 12/18/2012 224lbs., CW 186, GW 150lbs. 

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 3/24/13 11:12 am - OH

My surgeon only restricted their use for the first couple of weeks.  I would never have gotten nearly enough fluid in without using a straw and I do not remember anyone here in the past 6 years who has posted about a negative effect (even just excess air) from drinking from a straw.

Lora

7 years out and maintaining 190 pounds lost!  

“You don't drown by falling in the water.  You drown by staying there.”

poet_kelly
on 3/24/13 12:14 pm - OH

We can drink from straws.  If doing so causes you to suck in too much air and get painful gas, then don't do it.  Most people don't seem to have that problem though.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly