Vitamin D level normal?

poet_kelly
on 8/5/13 5:56 am - OH

They aren't exactly wrong.  They are an average of what a bunch of test subjects tested at.  They just aren't necessarily the levels research shows are needed for optimal health.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

LilyBugsMommy
on 8/5/13 5:22 am - Kingston, Canada
RNY on 03/12/13

Bump

Referral to Ottawa: Jan/11 Info Session: May/11 Nurse: Feb/12 Dietician/Behavourist/Abdominal Scan: Apr/12 Pre-op Education Class: Feb. 6/13 Meet Surgeon  Feb.15/13 Surgery with Dr. Raiche March 12/13!!

The race isn't given to the swift nor the strong, but it's given to the ones who endure it to the end...

cajungirl
on 8/5/13 7:08 am

Do you have all of your iron numbers?  Iron Saturation, Iron, TBIC, ferritin, H&H.....all of them together will give you more understanding on what's happening IMO.  For instance, my regular iron numbers are always mid-range, my ferritin tanks.  You are a nurse right?  Do you understand the CBC and iron numbers vs. ferritin? 

Yeah I'd personally be popping 5000 mg of B-12 sublingual a day to raise B-12.  I actually do take 5000 mg a day and mine stays so far between 1200-1700, I prefer mine above 1200 but no less than 1000.

My D I try to keep around 80+ and have had it go way over 100 and under 80 several times where I change things up some.  You are taking Dry D right?

Any chance you have copies of your pre-op labs?  If you aren't it is very helpful visually to put each set up labs in a spreadsheet and watch your trends.

Proximal RNY Lap - 02/21/05

9 years committed ~  100% EWL and Maintaining

www.dazzlinglashesandbeyond.com

RainbowRN
on 8/5/13 2:21 pm - OH
RNY on 03/12/13