New here....trying to pick a surgeon and a procedure.

Chaychee
on 8/29/13 11:44 pm
RNY on 10/14/13

Hello All,

I am very new to this but I am planning to arrange for RNY or GS at the end of this month or early October.  I have gotten prices from several DR's in Mexico and have read several reviews on each but I thought I'd get opinions here since you are all probably a lot more in the loop on things.  What do you know about Dr. Osuna (female) and Dr. Cabrera?  Have you heard positive? Negative? I seem to read a lot about Dr. Kelly Ramos on here.  I know I have looked into him but don't remember what he charges.  I  will be going to Tijuana since airfare for me to San Diego is about half of any of the other locations.  Please, let me know any info you may have! I'm all ears! I appreciate the guidance and help.  Also, I"m thinking RNY over VGS because of the amount of weight that is lost.  I have heard it is comparable but I was going through an American doctor here in the states initially and I was told that with the RNY you're able to lose more.  I figured if I"m going to go through with this I might as well 'go big or go home.' I just see the VGS being pushed by these coordinating companies.  Why is that? Are the surgeons more comfortable with doing it? Is it an all around easier procedure and they're not as comfortable doing the RNY?  So many questions.

Thanks so much

Stacey B. (Utah)

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 8/30/13 12:57 am - OH

It is not so much that you will lose more with the RNY, but you will initially lose somewhat faster than with the sleeve.  The tradeoff for that temporary caloric malabsorption (lasts about 18 months) is a lifetime of lack of vitamin absorption, significant vitamin supplementation, and inability to take NSAIDs.