Gallbladder removal

dessalves
on 1/17/14 9:48 am

I found out that I will probably have to remove my gallblader.removed. I am so annoyed that I will have to go through surgery again but I was told that I will have to go on a liquid diet again and that made me a little bit happier because I will lose more weight! Crazy, I know but I guess I should take the good out of a bad situation right?

Did you guys had to have this surgery as well? Because from my surgeon I am the third one (that I know of) that having this surgery. How was the surgery? What should I expect?

poet_kelly
on 1/17/14 9:57 am - OH

Why do you have to go on a liquid diet to have your gall bladder removed?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

dessalves
on 1/17/14 10:05 am

I was told that it is because I won't be able to absorb greasy foods and I would have to readapt to food just like in the beginning of the surgery. This was not information from my doctor though, it is from a friend that had her gallbladder removed, so I might be mistaken.

poet_kelly
on 1/17/14 10:15 am - OH

It's not that you won't absorb greasy foods.  The gall bladder stores bile, which helps you digest fatty foods. When you eat something with lots of fat (which I'm guessing you aren't eating anyway since you had RNY), the gall bladder releases a bunch of bile to held digest it.  When you don't have a gall bladder, small amounts of bile are released into the digestive tract all the time but there is no extra bile when you eat something fatty, so eating fatty stuff may cause gas, bloating or diarrhea.