Calories for weight loss?

lynnski70
on 4/16/14 10:49 pm - Cottage Grove, MN

I will be 5 years out from my RNY this coming July.  I had put on about 15 lbs. and now trying to lose it since I could really tell in my clothes.  I am on www.fatsecret.com and counting my calories, but not sure how many I should be striving for each day to lose weight.  When I added my age (43) and weight (164) the default calories came up to 2000, but I changed it to 1800.  Most days I'm in the 1500 calorie range. Suggestions?

poet_kelly
on 4/16/14 11:01 pm - OH

How many calories have you been eating, when you gained 15 pounds?  To lose weight, you'll need to eat fewer calories than that.  And/or burn more calories by exercising than you have been burning.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

pathchic
on 4/16/14 11:02 pm - FL
RNY on 08/07/13

Check out myfitnesspal, particularly the app- it will give you more individualized results, and you can track your nutritional intake and excercise to see how they contribute.  I use it to track nutrients and protein, I'm not at the stage where I am able to take in enough for any caloric info to be informative - but my husband (non-surgical weight loss, 20 lbs over 1 year) has used it with a lot of success, and has been able to maintain with it as a guide. It is a really well designed site, and the app rocks!

Good luck!

CerealKiller Kat71
on 4/16/14 11:15 pm
RNY on 12/31/13