5 days post op with so much pain

Ali Shepherd
on 5/26/14 12:13 pm - Smyrna, TN

hi everybody:

5 days post op with so much pain in abdominal area (left side mostly). i feel my life like hell and honestly if i knew ill be in this much of pain i wouldn't do it. please help me how can I overcome this? and what the positions of sleep I can do? can I do side way? please tell everything you think it will relief my pain. the most important thing how long this pain will last??please don't tell me ask your surgeon ! if you about to do so please save it. i'm not truing to be rude but really i'm in a lot of pain

thanks

poet_kelly
on 5/26/14 12:23 pm - OH

I gather your pain meds aren't helping?  Then I would call your surgeon and ask him or her to call in a script for a different pain med.  Taking pain meds is the thing that will relieve your pain the best right now.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Monkeygrl14
on 5/26/14 12:38 pm - Fresno, CA
RNY on 03/21/14

Take your pain meds and also work on getting in liquids. I got severely dehydrated and it hurt like Hell. You just had major surgery and yes, it is going to hurt. I was told that I could sleep in any position as long as it wasn't on my stomach. Also, WALK. Even if it is just from one end of the house to the next. It helps get out the gas that they pumped into you for the procedure. If it is so bad that doing these things does not help, man up and call the dr. That is what he and his staff are there for, to assist you through this journey you chose to go on. There is nothing weak about admitting that you are in pain that is unbearable. 

Scarlette B.
on 5/26/14 12:40 pm - TX
RNY on 03/20/14