Liquid Diet

TarshaJ
on 9/29/14 11:52 pm

I had my surgery on September 17th.   I am currently on the liquid and pureed diet.  Is there a limit on how much liquids you can consume.  I drink alot of water at one time.  Should I be drinking a certain amount?

poet_kelly
on 9/30/14 12:42 am - OH

No, not really.  You can get really sick if you drink huge amounts of liquids in a very short period of time - there was a woman that died after drinking four gallons of water in less than one hour.  So I'd limit yourself to maybe a gallon or less per hour.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Poodlemac
on 9/30/14 1:56 am
RNY on 09/26/14

I would NEVER try to drink a gallon of water per hour!!  WLS or not!!  you don't need that much water in a day!!!

saterry
on 9/30/14 2:54 am - IN
Revision on 10/03/13

A gallon contains 16  8oz servings. No one, especially a WLS patient, should drink 16 servings of ANYTHING in an hour !

Surely you ment in a day, not in and hour, and even a gallon might be a bit much for most people in a day let alone WLS patients.........

SRVG 1997 SW 301   Revision to RNY 10/3/13 SW 247 GW 130  Ht 5'8

poet_kelly
on 9/30/14 2:56 am - OH

I wasn't suggesting anyone should drink a gallon in an hour, simply saying it is probably safe to do so.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

saterry
on 9/30/14 3:04 am - IN
Revision on 10/03/13