Friday Fun: Three Things I Learned This Year

Cleopatra_Nik
on 12/18/15 7:06 am - Baltimore, MD

This has actually been an ok year, all things considered. I traveled a lot (let's see if I can remember where all I went...ok...I went to Haiti, to Dallas, San Antonio, Cleveland, and Seattle) and I finished my graduate degree! But here are a few quirky things I learned this year.

1 - Home waste drainage systems don't get enough respect

I learned that when mine decided to totally clog. I won't elaborate. But yeah...much more respect for my drainage system now.

2 - Cats. When you live in Baltimore City you need them!

Yes, folks. I am from the place where riots broke out this spring (although it was not nearly the way the news portrayed it, but still...). This year my cat decided to run off with a boy cat and my house has been left defensely to mice, who now think THEY live here and that I am the pest. Needless to say, I'm getting a new cat ASAP!

3 - Yes, I'm still a post-op

I'm 7 years out so I have a new normal now (which is why I have been lurking but not posting much the last year or two. I feel like I can't relate to some of the more day-to-day struggles of the early post-op but I hope by posting more often I can give a glimpse at what long term life after WLS looks like...or just be a nuisance...either way...)

But I did learn my body still has some post-op in it. I got into the habit of drinking what I call "double shot" protein shakes (two scoops of protein) throughout my morning. I did it because I liked the two flavors together but SHOULD have cut back to a half-scoop each. The result? Barely any appetite at all after three days of drinking them and I've lost about 11 lbs. in the last 8 weeks. So...there ya go.

RNY Gastric Bypass 1-8-08 350/327/200 (HW/SW/CW). I spend most of my time playing with my food over at Bariatric Foodie - check me out!

Pokemom
on 12/18/15 8:50 am
RNY on 12/29/14