Pain from hernia and twisted bowel

Jos2005
on 2/7/16 11:22 am

Hi, I am a newbie and this is my first post. I am from Manchester, UK. I had a Gastric bypass in 2005 over the years had pain on and off from acid reflux. I managed my pain and put it down to one of the side effects of having the surgery. Last August i collapsed in work with extreme pain in my stomach, back and chest.The right side just under my bust was swollen. I could eat or drink it made the pain worse. This pain was what i had in the past,however, it was more painful and would not go away. An ambulance was called and the paramedic gave me morphine and this made the pain ten times worse. 

The hospital said it was a virus and gave me Buscopan and I was sent home. The next morning my husband rushed me to my local hospital where i was admitted. Test and Xrays showed my gall bladder was inflamed. I had it removed was losing weight fast not eating and still in the same pain after being sent home with pain killers. 2 days later i was back in hospital in severe pain. I had a c t scan and it showed a twisted bowel and a Petersen Hernia. I was operated on and my pain went. In all i was hopitalised for 7 weeks 2 operation rapid weigh loss i was being fed by a line in my neck and so I was so weak. 

I am afraid this will happen again I was fighting for my life and too much weight. Does anyone know what the chances are of it happening again? 

Thank you 

Josy 

selhard
on 2/7/16 1:09 pm, edited 2/7/16 5:12 am - MN
RNY on 11/26/12