Optifast

Ali-jo76
on 12/3/16 5:01 pm
RNY on 01/12/17

This is my first time posting. I am scheduled for bypass January 12th 2017. I go this week for my pre-surgery diet class and to purchase my optifast. I've been reading lots of post here and other places and curious if anyone else had to do the 4-week optifast? It seems like most do two weeks. The cost of over $450 is really tough this time of year but I've made up my mind and I'm not going to let anything derail me. I'm just curious why my doctor would require four weeks when most do only two. Thanks so much and I'm very excited to join this community exclamation point

Eggface
on 12/3/16 8:33 pm, edited 12/3/16 12:33 pm - Sunny Southern, CA

4 weeks is long... usually it's 2 weeks but plans do vary, sometimes amount of weight or where you carry it has something to do with it, liquid diets are usually required before laparoscopic weight loss surgery procedures so that the tools and camera that will be used have more room to maneuver around your organs and then the final night before they ummm have you clear out EVERYTHING ;) which will minimize risk of infection. Optifast is great, medically low calorie, and you will lose on it... the benefit to having a set liquid diet provided is there isn't any daily thought... you can focus on other things. It's costly... perhaps see if your insurance will cover it... it's a medically supervised weight loss program so must be prescribed (not available over the counter) so maybe?

Best wishes to you on your surgery! What a great way to start the new year!

~Shelly

Weight Loss Surgery Friendly Recipes & Rambling
www.theworldaccordingtoeggface.com

Insert Fitness
on 12/4/16 5:26 am

Hi there,