I really need to get this off my chest

pammieanne
on 1/24/17 2:02 pm - OK
RNY on 05/16/16

I couldn't wait to get back to my desk, because I need my WLS buddies bad!!!

Story...

I work in the energy industry, specifically in the Fracing world. I work with the epitome of 'the good old guy network'... I know this, and because I have worked in this industry, on and off since I was 19, I'm well aware of the culture of the industry. And, honestly, I can deal with that. But, because when I started, at 19, I was a skinny, pretty cute girl... so I always was (innocently) flirted with, blah, blah, blah... so fast forward to when I started at this job (after not being in the industry for over a decade) I figured the reason I wasn't really treated like I was when I was younger was because... well, I'm older. Made perfect sense to me, right? And I've never really cared, because I really didn't need to be flirted with, or have anyone pay much attention to me anymore - I'm married and happy, right?

So, I've noticed that over the last few months I've gotten more attention on the elevator (not flirting, none of this is flirting), people talking to me, smiling, etc... I did finally acknowledge that losing weight was the prime reason.

So, today it just really hit home with me, and I am feeling a little anxious, pleased with myself for my WLS choice, pissed off, and uncomfortable... all rolled into one... here's what happened...