NSV V-Ball

CarlRay
on 5/29/17 8:36 am
RNY on 02/28/17

I'm pretty excited that my wife and I are on a beach volleyball team together. Last week was our first game, and I haven't played in 25 years. I was a little bit concerned about it, but I've handled everything else pretty well so I thought I'd give it a shot. Things went pretty well. Turns out I haven't lost much of a step, just have to knock the rust off. I made a few duffers of course, but some nice volleys, and actually dove for a few successfully. There's no way I could have been effective (or lasted the entire evening) at surgery weight of 316 in February, even last summer at 340-ish, let alone my HW of 391 a few years back. The difference is unreal, and I feel like I'm just getting started.

For the few difficult aspects of this, it's been amazing so far. My only regret, like I've read so many times before, is I didn't do it sooner.

Remember, no matter where you go.......there you are.

Au_Contraire
on 5/29/17 10:13 pm

CarlRay, that's wonderful! I love that life is opening up in such fun ways for you. Congrats on your weight loss too!

ScottAndrews
on 5/30/17 6:25 am
RNY on 03/20/17

Congrats on your success. Sounds like lots of fun.

I have some some old hockey equipment. Perhaps I've got one last run at The Cup in me yet!

CarlRay
on 5/30/17 7:00 am
RNY on 02/28/17

My brother-in-law is a goalie, and we've hatched a plan to get me back between the pipes too. I did it through high school and college, loved it. When I hit goal, I'll play goal. That's the goal. LOL

ScottAndrews
on 5/30/17 8:03 am
RNY on 03/20/17

I actually have the pieces to a regulation size PVC net in my closet. It's been there for almost 20 years waiting to be put back together.

CarlRay
on 5/30/17 12:25 pm
RNY on 02/28/17

Go for it! I only hope I can remember how to skate. Hahaha