Reactive Hypoglycemia

ScottAndrews
on 8/3/17 7:01 am
RNY on 03/20/17

So I've seen this condition just mentioned in passing in here and after a discussion with my surgeon I now realize that I've been dealing with it. I always believed it was dumping, or as I was calling it "dumping-lite" because many of the classic symptoms were absent, but it was only occurring after eating something with sugar. Also associating a "low blood sugar" issue with consuming sugar is a bit counter-intuitive but my surgeon broke it down for me and now of course I'm an expert on the subject. (wink-wink)

So the obvious solution is too just avoid eating too much sugar at once and honestly I'm pretty vigilant about keeping it 10 grams or lower per serving but there's also info out there that says the quick and easy solution to combating low-blood sugar is ..... go eat some sugar.

Anybody else deal with this? Any advice for a guy just looking to enjoy his plain yogurt with a bit of real maple syrup?

Grim_Traveller
on 8/3/17 7:59 am
RNY on 08/21/12

It's really common. And it's not just sugar that causes it,but any simple carb that spikes blood sugar. Bread and pasta are worse than sugar.

Eating more simple carbs to fix reactive hypoglycemia is NOT the answer. Reactive hypoglycemia should NOT be treated the same as hypoglycemia.

RH happens when you eat simple carbs. Blood sugar spikes really high, briefly. Your body expects more, and releases too much insulin. Blood sugar crashes as a result. Hard.

Eat sugar to raise your crashed blood sugar? Great. Blood sugar spikes in reaction, more insulin is released, and you have just started round 2 of reactive hypoglycemia. You'll be on the roller coaster continually.

Raising and crashing blood sugars is really, really unhealthy. It will do horrible things to your body. The only way to avoid it is to eat protein with fats. There is no magic answer for eating simple carbs.