Vitamins....RNY

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 11/9/17 2:27 pm
RNY on 08/05/19

Which type of Bariatric Advantage pills, specifically, are you taking? I believe they're all dry vitamins so there shouldn't be an issue.

Sparklekitty / Julie / Nerdy Little Secret (#42)
Roller derby - cycling - triathlon
VSG 2013, RNY conversion 2019 due to GERD. Trendweight here!

CollieMom
on 11/9/17 3:13 pm
RNY on 05/19/17

My vitamins are the Bariatric Advantage Advanced Multi EA - 2 chewable tabs once a day. The Calcium chew are the ones that look like Starbursts - 3 spread out over the day.

Btw, just for the record, I love this forum! I'm so, so happy that I found you guys!!

Karen

62 year old woman, surgery 5/19/2017 - HW - 345, CW - 139, GW - 160ish (BMI based healthy weight - 140)

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 11/9/17 3:19 pm
RNY on 08/05/19

I'm no expert, but these look just fine by me. Chewable D is OK, it's the stuff in the capsules (filled with oil) that don't work for RNYers. You may need to supplement with additional iron, but your surgeon can advise you on that based on your bloodwork results over time.

You might want to log the calories and carbs from these, just in case. The calcium chews have 5g carbs each, which can add up if you're taking 2 or 3 per day; ideally, it's good to stay under 25g carbs if you can while losing.

Sparklekitty / Julie / Nerdy Little Secret (#42)
Roller derby - cycling - triathlon
VSG 2013, RNY conversion 2019 due to GERD. Trendweight here!

CollieMom
on 11/9/17 3:27 pm
RNY on 05/19/17

Thanks Julie - I really appreciate the help.

Karen

62 year old woman, surgery 5/19/2017 - HW - 345, CW - 139, GW - 160ish (BMI based healthy weight - 140)

rocky513
on 11/9/17 5:38 pm, edited 11/9/17 9:39 am - WI

The only thing you need to watch is the B12. Everything else in your vitamin is fine as long as it is 200% of recommended dosage.