I am a post Rny Thanksgiving veteran.

seattledeb
on 11/22/17 11:28 pm

And here's my experience.

It's A meal. It helps to think that way.

It's a gathering of people who love each other(hopefully) and sharing a specific meal. We all make this meal once a year and then for most of it's gone.

It's a chance to score meat leftovers but be careful with turkey. It's dry and it will stick.

If you newly post surgery don't make it about you and how little you eat. Really NO ONE wants to hear that when there is pie. Try and blend. I bring a large iced coffee to all family dinners and drink on that most of the time. No one notices what I do or don't eat.

You may be tempted by those giant yummy rolls. If I eat it first I will not be able to eat anything and I'll be in pain. YMMV.

Have fun.

Queen JB
on 11/23/17 3:49 am
RNY on 07/20/15

Great advice, Deb. I remember that my first Thanksgiving, I was all prepared with stories to explain why I wasn't eating and literally no one noticed. Everyone's eyes are on their own plates, haha.

I also suggest doing a lot of planning ahead of time. If you know what foods to expect at the meal, you can play around with serving sizes and variations on My Fitness Pal ahead of the day to determine how to make it fit your macros.

• High Weight before LapBand: 200 (2008)
  • High Weight before RNY: 160 (2015)
  • Lowest post-op weight: 110 (2016)
  • Maintenance Weight: 120 (2017-2019)
  • Battling Regain Weight: 135 (current)

seattledeb
on 11/23/17 6:31 pm

For me turkey didn't work the first couple of years. I ate deviled eggs.

Laura in Texas
on 11/23/17 5:27 am

If you newly post surgery don't make it about you and how little you eat. Really NO ONE wants to hear that when there is pie. Try and blend.

All is great advice, especially this part!!

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!!

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis