What to look for in a personal trainer?

Librarian67
on 7/9/18 6:26 am
RNY on 02/28/17

Hi folks! I am 16.5 months post-RNY and have done really well with getting in my cardio (mostly walking and swimming) 5-6 days per week since surgery. In February of this year I had to have an abdominal hysterectomy and in May I had PS (TT, BL), both of which meant time off vigorous activity. I am back to swimming and walking now but still on restrictions for ab exercises (planks, crunches, etc).

While my the muscles in my legs are pretty developed from the walking and swimming, my abs and arms are fairly weak. Honestly, I like the cardio but weights not so much. I need to get motivated to do strength training for my health, though, particularly to improve my bone density.

I am wondering whether I should just shell out and hire a personal trainer at least for a while to provide some information and accountability. I've never worked with a trainer before and always felt too inferior to stick with it. For those of you who have worked with a trainer, I'd love some advice on what to look for. Unfortunately the trainer at my gym/pool is not taking new clients, so I will have to look somewhere else.

Any thoughts would be helpful!

HW: 248+, SW (RNY: 2/28/17): 244, GW (10/17): 125; LW: 115; 45# regain (19-20); CW: 135.6; new goal: 135; Plastics: Ext mastopexy, Ext abdominoplasty-5/18/2018; diagnosed w/ gastroparesis 11/20.

Megdot582
on 7/9/18 7:35 am
RNY on 04/30/18

I have been working with a trainer for over 7 years. In that time I have had 2 amazing ones, including the gal I am currently with, and several real stinkers.