Words of Encouragement

Mike C.
on 12/29/04 10:41 pm - Upstate, NY
Hi All - I just wanted to give my fellow sleep apnea suffers a little encouragement and to celebrate a victory on my part. I have been using a C-Pap for over five years. When first tested I showed 113 "events" within a 90 minute timeframe and was immediately put on the C-Pap. After struggling for several months with the mask, i.e, taking it off in the night, not be able to fall asleep withit on, etc., my doctor said that if I could not get used to it I may have to have a trach and un-cap it at night to breath. Needless to say I made a renewed effort and used it for nearly five years. It got so I couldn't sleep without it's comforting white noise! I had gastric bypass surgery on Friday the 13th, June 2003. I started at nearly 350 and now maintain at about 183. In November I had my third sleep study and finally got the official results. I had 0 "events" the entire night. Woohooo. Now my problem is sleeping without the noise but I'm getting better at it. Previously I was denied life insurance in a large part (pun intended) because of my weight, asthma, and sleep apnea. I can now reapply.. It hasn't always been easy and believe me the struggle isn't over but I'm taking the wins where I can and cutting my losses. Best wishes for health and happiness to all.
Shelly LaChance
on 12/30/04 12:05 am - Chester, IL
What a great story.. that is just great.Glad to here that your done with that c-pap ..Good luck to you on your weightloss..great jobb..shelly
slickgt
on 1/1/05 2:00 pm - Bolingbrook, IL
Mike, I don't get my cpap until next Tuesday but I'm looking forward to it for better rest. Try sleeping with a fan on. I've been doing that for years for the white noise. You don't even have to point it at you if you don't want the breeze. Ed
Mary Jo
on 1/2/05 12:12 pm - Oakdale, MN