RNY candidate

Linda T.
on 2/20/05 12:25 am - Jacksonville, FL
Hello, I just found this board. I am a third grade teacher in Florida. I team teach with a friend. I teach all the Language Arts and Social Studies. I am in the last few weeks of completing my portfolio for National Board Certiification. That has me majorly stressed. I am also going through the pre-op process for RNY. That is the only procedure that my insurance will cover. I have two sisters that have had the surgery and they are doing well. Does anyone have any super suggestions for me as I go through this time? I am hoping to have the surgery done in June or early July since we start school the first week in August. Linda
Diane M.
on 3/5/05 6:31 am - Hazard, KY
Hi Linda. I'm a first grade teacher in KY. I have being teaching for 27 years. I have taught every grade except K. I would suggest as you prepare that you get a notebook and write all your thoughts down good and bad. I call mine the journey journal. It's a good way to get things off your chest when you just want to scream. I researched and prayed for 10 months before I made the decision to have the RNY. I will be 3 years out in June. I began to walk for 30 mintues brfore the surgery. I didn't walk fast or far but I walked. I also drank 3 protein shakes each day and had a regular meal in the evening. I suggest that you start experimenting with proceeds food. My favorite was and I still make it is a chicken cheese soup.Cook skinless boneless chicken breast until falling apart. Then heat a can of chicken broth. Add broth chicken and Veletta cheese together in a blender and blend until smooth. Diane
Linda T.
on 3/5/05 7:31 am - Jacksonville, FL