Tell me how you went about your overnight hospital sleep study?

obxhatteraslight
on 9/12/11 7:38 am - baldwinsville, NY
I have to stay overnight at the sleep center next week. I failed the oximetry test at home and have to do the sleep test at the hospital. I am a night nurse and do not sleep well at night because I work some overnights. I imagine that I will be sitting up awake most of the night. If I have to sit up awake to pass the test then so be it...(WINK)

I have to pass this test!! Otherwise I have to deal with a Bi-Pap/C-Pap machine for 2 months before surgery. I have met my deductible for this year and can not go through the deductible process again!! So I need my sleeve done before 12/31!!

Any tips welcomed. TIA
Grumpy_old_man
on 9/12/11 7:48 am
Sitting up all night will not pass the test. Your brain waves as well as other items are monitored. Just try to sleep and take it easy.
obxhatteraslight
on 9/12/11 8:03 am - baldwinsville, NY
I am a bad nurse!! I realize that I have to sleep and hope that I do sleep:):). Just trying to put a little sarcasm into my last hurdle. I am so worried about this test. I appreciate any imput.
sunnymicki
on 9/12/11 8:06 am
Well as a nurse, I'm sure you know how dangerous, even deadly, untreated sleep apnea can be.  So taking care of that has to be a priority.

I would just make sure not to sleep during the day before your test so that you are able to fall asleep during the study.  If you don't sleep enough, they'll make you do it again.

It is uncomfortable to be hooked up to everything.  I wore comfy pajamas, and did about 20 minutes of reading (which is my normal nighttime routine), and then turned on my side and fell asleep.  I was really glad they let me curl up on my side.  And it was very dark in the room, so that helped too.