Protein...Protein...Protein

jenamir21
on 10/1/13 5:25 am
VSG on 10/14/13

I am currently on my two week pre-op which started this pass Sunday. I have not been able to find any good tasting protein shakes. I am struggling so hard with this diet, but I haven't eaten anything that is unhealthy. I am just struggling with the protein shakes and soups for this week.  I have tried the Atkins Advantage, Special K, Bariatric Advantage Vegetable soup have all been horrible. I am not good at drinking anything that has no taste or is just not good at all. I ordered some of the unjury chick flavor night, but that will not be here until Thursday. I need all the help and advice I can get, because I want to do good on my diet. So far I have lost 5 pounds this week on the diet, but I really need more options on shakes or soups to try so that I can get my protein in. I am coming to you all because most of you have been in my shoes and I know that I will get some great advice. Please any help that you can give me I really appreciate it. Thanks!

FYI: My doctor requires I drink one protein shake or soup twice daily, two approved snacks daily, one lean and green meal that includes three vegetables. I can substitute one vegetable for fruit this week.  Next week I have to do FIVE SHAKES a day. I know that is going to be ruff week, because its the last week before surgery. I keep telling myself I will not fail, because its my life on the line here and I want to do everything right. So once again any help I can get I really need it.

28 YO 5'11 HW:315 GW:185 SW:293

Chrissy W.
on 10/1/13 5:31 am - Indianapolis, IN
VSG on 07/01/13

If you have a Vitamin Shoppe nearby (or something similar), stop in and get some samples. A lot of people here rave about Syntrax protein powders. I personally use Syntrax Nectar Vanilla Bean Torte, but there are TONS of flavors and I haven't found on yet that I didn't really LIKE (not tolerate, LIKE).