Feeling stuck

pram81
on 1/2/14 12:52 pm
VSG on 12/18/13

Hi! I am pretty new to this - 2 weeks post op. I have a few questions and would greatly appreciate any advice and/or help. I am on the puréed stage and finding it very difficult to get all my protein and water in. I eat one egg and get the worst heartburn (which I guess is fullness?). Will i eventually be able to eat more? Will the full feeling eventually be less painful? I can't seem to stomach any of the protein shakes either. Suggestions? Also, how often do I eat? As much as necessary to get all the protein in, or only my 3 meals and 1 snack (as per my NUT), and not worry about the numbers yet? I've been sticking to the types of food I'm supposed to eat, but I definitely need to measure out (as seen on previous posts) and slow down. Just tell me it gets a little easier and this is all "normal" for right now :) Thank you so much!

Peggy

Fran001
on 1/2/14 12:59 pm - MI

Yup, it's all normal, and yup, it gets easier.

It is pretty important to get in a decent amount of protein (especially if you don't want your hair to all fall out three months from now), so if you can get in a couple of protein shakes along with your three eensy-teensy meals, do so.  Don't eat to over fullness, though.  One egg may well be too much right now; eat half of it, and if you feel satisfied, leave the other half.  (This is where having a dog to eat leftovers comes in handy. Also bantam chickens, which lay tiny eggs :D )

pram81
on 1/2/14 1:04 pm
VSG on 12/18/13

Thank you!!

hollirrose
on 1/2/14 8:38 pm
VSG on 04/21/12
I could not make my protein goals without 2 shakes a day for the first 6 months. The next 6 months I did just one a day. They are a necessary evil for most of us. Think of them as medicine...even tho you don't like them..you must still drink them. At about a year out I was finally able to get in my requied protein with food alone. Now I only have a shake when I want a " treat". Funny how that worked. Best of luck!