16 days out and its hard to "fit" food in.

Amber G.
on 4/18/14 3:10 am, edited 4/18/14 3:11 am
VSG on 04/02/14

Hey All :) Its Amber again with my daily question! LOL! I have been trying to eat soft solids (tuna salad, refried beans) atleast once a day, to start trying to incorporate food back in. However, when I do that it makes it hard to get the shakes and water it after, as the food fills me up for a while. Have any of you all exp this, and it is okay to maybe eat a bit less at lunch so I can get the shakes and water in? Our what would your recommendations be? Thank you as always!!

Shagdoll
on 4/18/14 3:15 am

I am far from an expert but I remember being in the same boat as you at 2 1/2 weeks out.  I could barely eat 2-3 spoonfuls of cottage cheese or scrambled eggs.  I focused on reaching my miniumum protein goals of 60 grams a day by drinking shakes.  I still believe IMHO that drinking water & protein shakes that early out was best while still eating a few spoonfuls of pureed foods to switch it up a bit.

Jenn  

WWBD?  

Amber G.
on 4/18/14 3:18 am
VSG on 04/02/14

Thanks Shag! Shoot, even the protein shakes (made with water) fill me up for a while. If I use almond milk, even longer. Maybe I should try adding in snacks like Sting/soft cheese twice a day? All recommendations are welcome! I would like to try to cut out mid-day shake atleast.

shrinking_sarah
on 4/18/14 3:19 am - CA

I do not know what your dr's plan is, but my plan did not call for adding soft foods in so early.  Call your dietician, but my suggestion (keep in mind I have no medical training) is to get in the protein, however you have to do that (shakes, whatever), and then add soft solids as there is room.  The priority, for me, was always the protein goal.  You will progress as you progress.  My understanding is you can go too fast, but you can't go too slow, when it comes to eating "real" food.  I am over a year out and in maintenance and still have a shake every morning.