Considering gastric sleeve with BMI of 35

renee_727
on 9/23/14 4:43 am

I am just beginning the process of researching a gastric sleeve.  I am a nurse and I have cared for patients after gastric sleeve and roux-en-y, so I feel that I understand the surgical risks and the worst case scenarios.

I have Anthem as my insurance.

A few questions:

Has anyone had success getting approval for a sleeve with a BMI and 35 and 2 related health conditions?

Has anyone here had the surgery at a similar BMI and are you happy with your choice or regretful?

I have been overweight all of my adult life, and especially since having children.  I have lost 50 lbs several times, but I always gain it back, plus a few bonus pounds.  I have tried Weigh****chers 4 times, NutriSystem, LA Weight Loss, The Zone, just to name a few.  The older I get, it is of course becoming very easy for me to gain and very hard to lose.

I would just like to hear some thoughts about having surgery at a BMI under 40.  I had originally considered a lap band, but after doing research I am not sure that is the right way to go.

Thanks!

SnowbirdBaja
on 9/23/14 7:23 am
VSG on 08/08/14

I had my sleeve with a BMI of 36, so far so good! I am 7 weeks out and have lost  38 lbs.    I too have lost this weight before but  I feel so mu*****ontrol with the sleeve. It really helps me keep on track.   I am 62 and yes it got  harder and harder each year.  I plan to make this the LAST time I need to lose the weight and am very happy with the help the sleeve gives me.    It basically does not let me  forget it is there.    The band was not a serious consideration for me after just  2 minutes of research.  If I want something to last the rest of my life I need a permanent non reversible tool like the sleeve. 

VSG  WITH DR WILHELMY      08/14      SLOW LIVING IN BAJA U_U

luvmypuggies
on 9/23/14 8:04 am