Hello!

Heather S.
on 12/4/14 9:25 pm
VSG on 06/04/15

Hi, This is my first time posting to this forum. I'm currently waiting for insurance approval for a VSG, and I'm super excited and also nervous. I've been looking into weight loss surgery since I was 18 (35 now), and always thought I would have the RNY when I finally was able to afford it/get insurance to pay for it. My doctor recommends the VSG "because I'm still young" whatever THAT means. I haven't looked it up a whole bunch, but from what I gather, it's because I can always have it converted to a traditional RNY, or anything else really, if I need to in the future. I dont want to have future weight loss surgeries, however, and I have quite a bit of weight to lose. My ultimate goal is to get down to 150 lbs...so that's 305 lbs I have to lose as of now. Can I hear from some of you that have had a VSG? Are you doing well with it? loosing weight like you thought you would? From the little bit i've looked into it (pretty much the notebook my surgeon's given me with info on the 3 different types of weight loss surgeries he does) it seems like you wont lose as much with the VSG compared to the RNY because the VSG doesn't have the malabsorption component to it. Any thought? Thanks! :-) 

HW: 460 (12/18/14) SW: 419 (6/4/15) CW: 330 (10/19/15) Mini goal: 319 by 10/4/15

Brad Special
Snowflake

on 12/4/14 9:29 pm
VSG on 12/06/12

Studies show that RNY loses more at the start but eventually they are equal in terms of weight loss. There is a guy *****ally doesn't post much anymore named Jimbo who lost 350 pounds. Have you talked to him about the DS? It has the sleeve stomach but with the malabsoprtion of the RNY for life. It does require a lot of aftercare though because you need to keep good track of your bloodwork and what supplements you are taking. Here is a great website you can do research on. http://asmbs.org/

grayC
on 12/5/14 1:15 am
VSG on 05/01/13

Also search Nikke2003

shes a great inspiration