What inspiration means..at least to me

T Hagalicious Rebel
Brown

on 5/6/15 5:53 am - Brooklyn
VSG on 04/25/14 with

I'm a newbie, only a little more than a year out from surgery, but I have been pretty consistent on the boards & what I have noticed is a lot of "inspirational" posts.

Don't get me wrong, I love reading how surgery has changed their lives. How they want to be an inspiration to other people, but what irks me to no end is how people will post their accomplishments/inspiration & then disappear for months or years at a time, & not supporting the OH community that helped them in their time of need., of not giving back. It comes off as a pat me on the back post rather than the inspiration they meant it to be.

I feel that inspiration, true inspiration comes from the people who stay, who supports people & answers their questions for the millionth time & tries to help other newbies, myself included., & others. They stay & help, not disappear, not use excuses cuz some people "offended" them in some way so now they don't want to stick around anymore or they deactivate their account or whatever.

Maybe I'm rambling, maybe I'm not using the right word, but to me inspirational people stay & help, hopefully I can be inspirational to someone else.

Much respect to the vets on this board & all the other inspirational people. Thanks for reading. 

No one surgery is better than the other, what works for one may not work for another. T-Rebel

https://fivedaymeattest.com/

Sandra F.
on 5/6/15 6:08 am

Well said!

Gwen M.
on 5/6/15 6:23 am
VSG on 03/13/14

I definitely give more credence to the people who participate frequently than to the ones who post and run. 

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)

Age 42 Height 5'4" HW 319 (1/3/2014) SW 293 (3/13/2014) CW 149 (7/16/2017)