Looking for Info....

NikkiL2015
on 7/1/15 5:45 pm - Carl Junction, MO
VSG on 07/06/15

I thought I had seen an article on this site somewhere that addressed what to pack when going into the hospital.  I can't seem to find that article again.  Any suggestions? My Dr. says I will be most likely in for one night, I will be having VSG on July 6th.  

ceecart
on 7/1/15 6:09 pm
VSG on 06/23/15

http://www.obesityhelp.com/articles/weight-loss-surgery-hosptial-stay-what-to-pack

The chapstick- I packed mint EOS lip balm instead is critical.  I also packed sugar free gum (my surgeon's request).  Sending prayers and good luck to you!!

MissNexxie
on 7/1/15 7:06 pm
VSG on 04/30/14

I studied the lists and took tons of stuff I never looked at during my 2 nights in hospital. What I did use/need:

- lip balm/Vaseline

- unscented lotion

- Brush/comb

- medications you need

- slip on shoes (I wore them to the hospital and used during my stay in place of slippers). Feet will swell.

- loose skirt & button/zip up top, or,  loose maxi dress (nothing to pull over your head, trust me on this, and nothing tight)

- pillow for ride home, to hold against your tummy

- cell phone & charger

You will spend that first day sleeping mostly and feeling weak. Likely won't read much but maybe take 1 magazine. You won't feel much like lifting or holding anything.

Good luck with surgery.

Surgery: April 30, 2014: HW: 288 SW: 250 Achieved Goal 149 lbs: April 8, 2015 CW: 158 lbs (working on losing 65 lb regain as of June 1, 2021. Weight was at 215 lbs). Fighting every darn day!

rocky513
on 7/1/15 7:08 pm - WI

The hospital will provide you with almost everything you will need (like toothpaste, tooth brush, soap, shampoo, lotion, mouthwash, deodorant, non-slip socks, gowns and robes).