I'm new with so many questions.

Spookie
on 10/21/16 12:01 am

Hi everyone . I just randomly found this forum after trying to get information about the  vertical sleeve surgery. I currently have an HMO plan but doubt it would cover. can anyone recommend a doctor in California or anywhere actually that will allow me to do payments. from what I have seen and read a sleeve costs around 15k to 20k? also any websites with more information. thanks in advance , I would really appreciate your help . 

Gwen M.
on 10/21/16 7:50 am
VSG on 03/13/14

I think that your first step should be calling your insurance company to find out if they do cover it!

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)

Age 42 Height 5'4" HW 319 (1/3/2014) SW 293 (3/13/2014) CW 149 (7/16/2017)
Next Goal 145 - normal BMI | Total Weight Lost 170

TrendWeight | Food Blog (sort of functional) | Journal (down for maintenance)

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 10/21/16 8:49 am
RNY on 08/05/19

Call the phone number on the back of your insurance card to ask about coverage, or see if you can find a copy of your benefit book. That will give you information on your coverage, which is a good place to start.

As far as general info goes, I recommend the book "Weight Loss Surgery for Dummies." It gives a great overview of the procedure and post-op life.

Sparklekitty / Julie / Nerdy Little Secret (#42)
Roller derby - cycling - triathlon
VSG 2013, RNY conversion 2019 due to GERD. Trendweight here!

AK_Gipson
on 10/21/16 8:52 am
VSG on 04/14/14