Another new member here

theAntiChick
on 1/14/17 2:06 pm - Arlington, TX
VSG on 08/17/16

Busy weekend, but I'll be fleshing out my profile and stuff as I have time.

I'm 47 and a computer geek - turned - nurse - turned computer geek.  LOL.  I was a paramedic when I was young, and then got into computers after a knee injury sidelined me.  I had a mid-life "crisis" and went back to get my RN and LOVED working ER, but was diagnosed with auto-immune arthritis (rheumatoid and/or psoriatic - the diagnosis is still a little fluid) and ended up having to abandon my plans to become a nurse practitioner.  However, my computer background (specifically with data warehouse analysis/programming) mixed with my RN makes me a perfect fit for a new field called Healthcare Informatics, so that's what I'm doing now, and am in my last year of my master's degree program to move that career path forward.

I've struggled with my weight most of my life, but was an active overweight person mostly for a really long time.  The last 10-15 years, have ben putting more and more weight on, and of course nursing school while working full time, and then the auto-immune diagnosis and the accompanying symptoms were factors in my hitting my all-time high weight of 306#.  I had been back and forth on surgery for years, but my rheumatologist recommended it because of the part the stomach tissue and fat cells play in inflammation.  So I jumped off the fence and started the process to get VSG.  I also have some PTSD-type food issues related to my Dad force-feeding me vegetables as a small child, and am an emotional eater and borderline binge eater.  So I also started therapy for my food issues, which has been INCREDIBLE in support of this process.