New to the VSG Forum = Questions

Manda32
on 2/19/17 8:34 pm

Hello all,

Although, i am not a newbie to this site, I have never posted on this forum, as until recently I wasn't sure which surgery I would be having.

I live in Ontario, and with our health care system, you have to go through a lengthy process, and the RNY is very heavily pushed. RNY is standard so unless you have a medical reasons for needing the VSG over the RNY, you'll get the RNY. Most things you learn about is strictly about the RNY.

I will be having my surgery next Month. I'm very excited. I started with my Orientation last April, so it has been a process.

Some of my questions maybe a bit basic, but wondering if there are any differences from RNY patients or not in some of these questions.

For anyone whose had the surgery, how long did it take for you to feel like you could drink water normally? Can you guzzle water like in the past, or just drink normally?

I am told that it takes six months to internally recover, I'm assuming at six months that is why the last of the food restrictions are gone. By six months were you having any problems with food that you couldn't tolerate? We are told to avoid red meat for six months, has anyone not followed this recommendation (it the recommendation we get here in ontario, I realize it could be different in the States and abroad)?  If you ate red meat before six months, when did you start, and did you stomach tolerate it?

By six months what was the amount of food you were able to eat? Did the amount change after six months?

I've gotten info that between six months and a year, the size of your pouch (i'm using RNY because they don't mention the sleeve) will reach maximum size, and the amount you can eat is set. I know people can stretch out the pouch/sleeve a bit, but I'm just curious when people find their point where the amount of food they eat, no longer increases, this is what you can eat from now on.