2 weeks from sleeve

adistacke
on 5/1/17 2:49 pm
VSG on 05/16/17

My surgery was moved up a few days to May 16th so I start my full liquid diet tomorrow. Surgery day will be here before i know it! I'm a nurse and having surgery where i work...dreading the hospital stay so wanted to hear others' experiences. How long did you stay in the hospital after surgery? They try to send you home the following day but told me it depends on how nauseated i am and that it's a 50/50 for staying 1 versus 2 days.

The surgeon's nurse also freaked me out a bit telling me when i'm home that drinking will be a full time job and that I would be lucky to get one protein shake in a day while drinking one ounce every 10-15 minutes. How long did you experience that? Any tips for the first 2 weeks post op?

thanks!

Grim_Traveller
on 5/1/17 2:59 pm
RNY on 08/21/12

I had surgery on Tuesday morning, and went home Thursday morning. The first day was bad, probably because of the nauswa from the anesthesia. After that, there were no problems.

Drinking should be your main focus (followed by walking), but don't assume it will be a big problem. I could do three shakes in a day by the time I got home, and could drink more than enough to get in my 64 ounces.

You'll do fine. This will be a distant memory before you know it.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

adistacke
on 5/2/17 6:58 am
VSG on 05/16/17

Can't wait until it's a distant memory! Thanks for the response!

Cathy H.
on 5/1/17 5:15 pm, edited 5/1/17 10:17 am
VSG on 10/31/16