Advice on choosing a date, please!

Queensley
on 12/6/17 9:08 pm - Canada

I am in the process of scheduling my VSG. I live in Canada but chose to self-pay to avoid my province's ~7 year wait time. I need some advice from those of you with experience as to what I can expect and when would be a good time to have the surgery.

Here's the thing... I've got a big year coming up.

• I'm getting married on April 1 (dress is ordered, size 22 which currently fits)
  • I'm standing at my brother's wedding in July (I already have the dress, size 16 which currently fits)

I'm also a teacher, so my schedule is pretty fixed as to when I can fly to Toronto for a week. Basically, my options for surgery would be the end of February or the beginning of July. I would obviously prefer to have the surgery sooner rather than later, but I'm worried with it being rather close to my wedding date, and we are getting married on a cruise.

I would love any opinions or advice. Is getting VSG 4 weeks pre-wedding a horrible idea? Will I be feeling good enough to eat normal foods by then? I'm mostly concerned about making sure my dress will fit and not look ridiculous! Anyone have any personal experiences as to how many sizes you went down in the first month post-op? I want this surgery so bad, but I don't want to make a stupid decision based on emotions. Be blunt with me. :)

For reference: I'm 5'2" and 208 lbs.

Mirandia
on 12/6/17 9:53 pm
VSG on 03/14/17