Pre VSG questions

Kimma33
on 12/15/17 6:08 am - South Hamilton, MA

HI,

I am pre VSG mostly like in February and I'm nervous as hell. I keep thinking maybe I can lose weight on my own, but I know that's not true or I would have done it by now and I'm 42. I don't want to have surgery and fail. Any advice??

KIM

Bakermama
on 12/15/17 8:50 am

I think we have all thought at one time or another we could lose it on our own, and many of us have; just to gain it all back plus more. I had done this several times in my life. I decided to have surgery last May, after having thought about it for several months. I had my surgery on November 27 th. I know I'm still a newbie, but I am so glad I finally did this. I'm in the puréed food stage now and all is going well. That's my input for what it's worth. Best wishes to you.

Sandy

VSG on 11/27/17

HW 255 Pre- op 230 SW 216 CW 198

Gwen M.
on 12/15/17 9:19 am
VSG on 03/13/14

I recommend reading through all the forum posts you can. I did this pre-op and it was very informative for me.

This is also a great article -- https://www.vox.com/science-and-health/2017/12/7/16587316/ba riatric-surgery-weight-loss-lap-band

I've lost 170ish pounds during pre-op and post-op. Could I have lost this weight without surgery? Who knows. The only thing that really matters is that I DIDN'T. Surgery isn't an easy fix, you'll still have to work and it'll be important to figure out the mental causes of obesity and get those sorted out, but I certainly didn't lose 170 pounds before surgery so clearly the surgery was what I needed :)

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)

Age 42 Height 5'4" HW 319 (1/3/2014) SW 293 (3/13/2014) CW 149 (7/16/2017)
Next Goal 145 - normal BMI | Total Weight Lost 170