Christmas Party Outcome

Ladyblu
on 12/21/17 10:02 pm - Jacksonville, FL
VSG on 09/29/17

Well, I made it through the parts and am intact physically and mentally.

Some parts were great and some parts were terrible and some parts were just weird.

For those of you that are familiar with the situation, you may want to skip the next couple of paragraphs.

For those of you that have no idea what I'm talking about, I attended the annual Christmas Party that my previous job throws every year. It is a huge day-long affair and overall about 3000+ employees and their families attend at various times during the day. What is significant is that in Mid-October, just 2 weeks after I had WLS, they "eliminated" my position and laid me off. I was a 17 year veteran and believe with all my heart and soul that situation had no basis in cause, it was purely a political move. But all that aside, I have been angry and sad and have struggled with letting those negative emotions go and moving on. Add that to the struggles that come from abandoning my best friend (food) and the last two months have been quite difficult.

I was the main bread winner in the family as my husbands business had taken a nose dive in 2005 so although he contributes, my position provided a steady paycheck and the critical health care benefits that we both needed.

So now for the party and the outcome of attending.

I have some very good friends that are still working there. They are fantastic, beautiful, kind and caring individuals. Each is dedicated and works very hard and does their best to support an agency that does not always appreciate nor does it award such dedication. They invited me to the party and I agreed to go.

A long time ago, I took a trip back to Baltimore and faced the demons of my past. It was a cathartic experience. It allowed me to put behind some very strong emotions and put to bed some very tragic and unpleasant memories. I hoped that today would be the same experience.