Hello (+ seeking some advice/opinions)

SA79
on 1/2/18 11:42 pm

Hi everyone!

I just spent the last two hours reading comments in various forums here and you seem like people I'd like to know, so - hello! I'm totally new to this and still reeling... I hadn't weighed myself in years, but just went to see a doctor with a sinus infection over the holidays (like, 3 days ago!) and when we were discussing a bunch of other health concerns I've been dealing with (severe asthma, chronic back pain, chronic fatigue, depression, etc), he gently pointed out that all of these things can be linked to obesity and asked what I've tried as far as strategies go so far. I'm actually pretty active, as I don't have a car - depending on the day, I walk anywhere from 2-6km (Canadian, sorry for the metric!) and I swim for about an hour usually once per week, depending on my work schedule. I LOVE food but think I have a pretty healthy relationship in terms of eating well, not snacking, generous but not grotesque portion sizes, etc. I document all of my eating and exercise daily, etc. I've been a chef in the past and love working with food, etc., so when my doctor pointed out that if I'm not losing weight with the way I'm currently living, that I might want to consider weight loss surgery, I was taken aback. I guess I hadn't weighed myself in years and was shocked to find how much it was (around 350lbs). I'm very muscular and have genuinely big bones (like, size 10-11 shoes, shoulders like a running back, etc!), wear about a size 20-22 in most stores, and kind of thought that I was definitely overweight but not like, morbidly obese. After having doing a HEAP of reading these past few days, I'm trying to wrap my head around the concept that I am, in fact, morbidly obese, with a BMI of around 60 (depending on the website, it seems). It's hard to process but I'm trying to adjust my view of myself. I always sort of thought that gastric bypasses and the like were reserved for people who wore at l