Pregnant 3 months out from gastric sleeve.

Szeller01
on 2/3/18 2:46 am
VSG on 11/18/17

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this but was just wondering if anyone has had a similar experience. I got the VSG not only to help me get back to the old me but also to help me have my second child. Well I lost 50 lbs (about half the weight I wanted to lose) in 12 weeks. I'm thrilled. My Dr. told me with my history of inability to achieve and maintain a pregnancy I should not necessarily wait to try again if that's what I wanted.(her recommendation was to just let it be and that a baby is a wonderful thing so don't prevent it) And don't get me wrong it is exactly what I wanted. I just didn't think after 4 years of trying with no luck I would be pregnant the first month of not preventing it. I was told by my surgeon last visit if I were to get pregnant the baby would still be better off than being 50 lbs heavier. And research does show people have a much healthier pregnancy. And that there is no evidence to show nutrition deprivation for the baby but here I am 5 wks pregnant and freaking out. Not so much about my current nutrition. I feel I'm eating enough and choosing the right foods. I'm worried about further down the line. And how I will bounce back after.

Does anyone have any experiences they can share or advice?? Did you lose weight during pregnancy? Did the baby weight come right off? How will my sleeve react?

Sincerely,

super excited but super nervous ?

diane S.
on 2/3/18 11:16 am

I have no personal experience but my surgeon told me that they had maybe 60 healthy babies born to wls patients that were sooner than expected after surgery. Obesity does indeed interfere with fertility. GL and enjoy this time. DS

Join US On The VSG Maintenance Group Forum!! 
                  http://www.obesityhelp.com/group/VSGM/discussion/

Tweety135
on 2/3/18 12:51 pm
VSG on 01/23/18