HELP the Newbie here Surgery set for June 20th.

Whatzit28
on 4/16/18 4:44 pm
VSG on 06/20/18

After years of Yo-Yo dieting I made the decision to have the VSG. I am scared and excited all rolled into one big ball. I may have lost my mind a little. I have been eating horrible. All the things I know are wrong.

1. How did you get yourself focused and ready?

2. How many weeks before surgery did you have a special diet to follow?

3. What did you stock your house with during those weeks?

4. How do you stay motivated? I know we are all different but support is great!

Any feedback would greatly be appreciated.

Gwen M.
on 4/16/18 6:37 pm
VSG on 03/13/14

I started seeing a therapist 4-5 months before surgery and continued seeing them regularly for about 2 years post-op. Now I just see my therapist on more of an as needed basis. Surgery is on your stomach, so the brain part still takes a lot of work.

I had to do liquids for two weeks pre-op.

I didn't really stock my house with anything, since I had people who could go get me things as needed. I did have my favorite protein powder(s) on hand.

Therapy helps. Reminding myself why I'm doing what I'm doing and what I have to gain helps.

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)

Age 42 Height 5'4" HW 319 (1/3/2014) SW 293 (3/13/2014) CW 149 (7/16/2017)
Next Goal 145 - normal BMI | Total Weight Lost 170

TrendWeight | Food Blog (sort of functional) | Journal (down for maintenance)

Whatzit28
on 4/19/18 9:51 am
VSG on 06/20/18

What protein powder do you like?

Gwen M.
on 4/19/18 9:55 am
VSG on 03/13/14

Optimum Nutrition Double Rich Chocolate.

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016