WLS grad needs help

SheilaG
on 7/18/08 3:57 am
Hi; haven't been to this site before; it's weird to think I'm a grad! Anyway, I posted this one the main message board also. I am having some serious problems with diahrrea. It's been 12-14 days and I've lost around 10 lbs; I don't want to lose this much, I'm perfectly happy and healthy at 150 lbs; also all this diahrrea has really hit me hard and I feel pretty weak and poorly. I had assumed that I had gotten C Diff because I work in a hospital setting, but my stool labs came back negative for everything! I'm stumped! I thought one of you may have either heard of this problem, or had experienced it yourself. If you have, please write back or PM me; I'm at a loss, and need my life back! Thanks in advance, Sheila
Sheila
The views, opinions, and experiences in this post are mine alone. I am not a doctor, nurse, or nutritionist. Read for enjoyment or just input, but follow ANY advice or information you see in this post at your own risk.

vi
on 7/18/08 4:03 am - CA

Sheila,
I went through this after a week hospital stay after emergency gallbladder surgery.  They tested for everything including Cdiff then went back and retested for ecoli which came back positive.  I spent a week in the hospital with the ecoli when they decided to give me a cholesterol medication in powder form which immediately stopped the diarrhea.  After a week of Imodium and losing on the average of 2lbs a day the problem was solved with the cholesterol stuff and antibiotics.  Just a thought.

SheilaG
on 7/18/08 4:09 am
Thanks so much for your response! I'm going to talk to my doc again and see about what you experienced. Thanks for your input! Sheila
Sheila
The views, opinions, and experiences in this post are mine alone. I am not a doctor, nurse, or nutritionist. Read for enjoyment or just input, but follow ANY advice or information you see in this post at your own risk.

.Anita R.
on 7/18/08 7:18 am - Stafford, VA