Great tool-but not a magic one!

Willie H.
on 4/30/15 2:13 am
VSG on 08/26/14

Had VGS on 8/26/14 so basically I'm still kind of new to this. I hit a plateau a few times and of course was frustrated but as always the weight eventually started coming off again. This forum has been a godsend!  This time though I've been at the same weight for over 2 1/2 months. Some of it admittedly because I just got tired of following a protocol everyday, exercising and yet seeing no results. For that no one to blame but myself. The good thing is that I haven't gained back a lot of weight - maybe two lbs. IN THE BEGINNING i WAS SO PSYCHED and encouraged so it was easy to stick to a routine especially when you see the weight falling off, the inches melting and just the feeling of well-being!

Since this forum is for WLS graduates I come to you to ask how did you maintain your enthusiasm? At 8 months I should not be feeling drained, tired or discouraged. Yes, as for all of us-life gets in the way and reality sets in but what do I need to do to get a boost? In the beginning I was so sure, so ****y and assured that I would reach goal by March and here I am still 45 lbs away from it.

I could understand if I was pigging out or inactive completely but I still do go to the gym. I walk when I play golf, and although I do not follow my eating routine as I once did-protein, veggies, fluids, less carbs, I still only eat about 1200-1600 calories a day. Yes. a lot for a VGS but I would think not so much that I should not be able to lose weight? Does our metabolism change that much that a 260 lb guy cannot lose weight eating less than 1600 calories a day with exercise?