Getting Back on Track Strategies

Gail Engebretson
on 8/3/17 3:30 pm - Seattle, WA

I'm a 13 year vet but still have times when things get off track for a little while and I gain anywhere from a couple up to 15 lbs. I know it's important to just get back to the basics and all the WLS rules. But I usually need a little jump-start. I need to re-set my body - get off the craving wagon.I have a few "get back on track" strategies that often work for me. The one that works the best for me is going to just protein and green veggies for 4-5 days. That resets my taste buds and my cravings. I'll also make a big pot of dense veggie soup and eat a small bowl of that as often as I want for about 3 days and add a little protein each meal. Again, it resets taste buds and cravings.

I'd love to hear about what strategies you use. More ideas are always better. Let's share strategies and maybe we can all learn something new.

Thanks!

LisaLeal
on 8/24/17 11:21 am

I'd like to stay tuned to this. I am six and a half years out, and over the last two years (very slowly) I'm up thirty pounds and I feel horrible about it. Slowly eased into eating more, snacking more, and even eating sweets, which I had stopped craving completely and written off, plus picked up a nasty little wine habit, but I've backed off that considerably. I originally lost about 110 lbs, but stabilized at 160-165 (I'm 5'10) and was quite happy with that. I'm now in a size 12 vs. an 8 and I want to get back there. I can't work out like I did back then -- 2 hours a day, six days a week -- because I'm in a much more demanding job---but I can work out normally, like four days a week an hour at a time, and I can change my habits. I have a friend who has challenged me to a half marathon in December and presently I cannot even run a mile without stopping, so there is also that!!!

leslie14
on 9/4/17 8:33 am