WLS for BMI 40?

under30togo
on 3/24/15 5:14 am

Hello all! I am a newbie here, so hopefully this is the right forum to post this...

I am 25 years old, happily married for 4 years now, and looking to get RNY OR LapBand.
My husband is military so I have to try to go through Tricare (so anyone with this experience, please let me know!) I am hoping I won't have a hard time getting approved through Tricare, but I am unsure of whether I should do a RNY or band procedure.

I am 5'6, 255 lbs, which puts me at a BMI of around 40. I do not have any comorbidities yet, but obesity and diabetes are VERY dominant in my family. My mom is 62 and has lost 6 toes, dealt with bleeding in her eyes, almost lost her entire leg, open wounds for years, etc and I want to get the surgery now instead of waiting until it is too late.

My dad, 2 uncles, and an aunt have all had gastric bypass approx. 10 years ago. I know the surgery has changed dramatically since then but even with the higher risk, I think I am more comfortable with RNY because I kind of know what to expect.

On the same note, I feel like I am not really "big enough" to get it. My dad was around 400lbs when he got it in 2006 and I am obviously much less than that. Also, I haven't had kids yet and hope to in the next 5-7 years.

Can anyone provide any insight? If you have had these surgeries, how have they worked for you? Has anyone had this surgery as a smaller person like me? Any help at all would be appreciated!

Jennifer G.
on 3/24/15 11:59 am

Well I'm 32 and I'm four months in from having the gastro sleeve done. My starting weight was 299 and I'm now 230.5 in four months. And honestly this was the best decision I've made.  I as well don't have any children yet but I do work with them so maybe that's why. I feel alot better now that the weight is coming off and I'm even doing things that I haven't done I  years.